Gil Shaham • Brahms Symphonies

Gil Shaham • Brahms Symphonies

7 July 2017
Add to calendar Get gig news & updates

Lan Shui, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin

Soir, Reves, Fantaisie from Symphony No. 2

Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major, Op. 19

Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Lan Shui and the SSO open the season with Tan Chan Boon’s Soir, Rêves, Fantaisie. Lyricism, fantasy and mischief come alive in Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 1 under the bow of Gil Shaham. Lan Shui begins the SSO’s Brahms Symphonies cycle with the epic Symphony No. 1 in C minor, a work that Brahms wrote and refined over a period of 21 years, embodying all the hallmark qualities of the German Romantic master.

‘One of today’s preeminent violinists’ The New York Times

Pre-concert Talk: 6.30pm-7pm | Library@Esplanade
Post-Concert Symphony Chat