Mendelssohn Piano Concerto • Brahms Symphonies

Mendelssohn Piano Concerto • Brahms Symphonies

28 July 2017
Add to calendar Get gig news & updates

Lan Shui, conductor
Melvyn Tan, piano

Tod und Verklärung (“Death and Transfiguration”), Op. 24

Piano Concerto No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25

Symphony No. 3 in F major, Op. 90

Melvyn Tan returns as the soloist in Mendelssohn’s spirited First Piano Concerto, a centrepiece framed by the magisterial melodies of Brahms’ regal Third Symphony and the heartfelt poetry of Strauss’ “Death and Transfiguration”, depicting the passing of an artist as he relives memories and achievements, to reach the ultimate transfiguration of the soul.

Pre-concert Talk: 6.30pm-7pm | Library@Esplanade
Friends' Concert: Friends of the SSO enjoy 50% off Cat 1 - 3 tickets.