Stephen Hough • Rachmaninov Piano Concerto 1

Stephen Hough • Rachmaninov Piano Concerto 1

14 October 2017
Add to calendar Get gig news & updates

Hannu Lintu, conductor
Stephen Hough, piano

Symphony No. 4

Piano Concerto No. 1 in F-sharp minor, Op. 1

Symphony No. 1 in F minor, Op. 10

Expect glistening beauty and virtuoso fireworks as Stephen Hough takes centrestage in Rachmaninov’s First Piano Concerto. Finnish maestro Hannu Lintu brings out the wit and contemplation of Shostakovich’s First Symphony, contrasting with Lutoslawski’s Fourth Symphony, the Polish composer’s last major work.

‘A virtuoso who begins where others leave off’ The Washington Post

Open Rehearsal: 14 Aug, 9.30am-12pm | Esplanade Concert Hall
Pre-concert Talk: 6.30pm-7pm | Library@Esplanade