Back to Top

Ride first class on the Bandwagon with the latest gig news!

Connect With Us

Chok Kerong to debut his new album, Tales They Told Me, with launch show

Chok Kerong to debut his new album, Tales They Told Me, with launch show

Chok Kerong is undoubtedly one of Singapore's most established jazz pianists today.

But the Charlie Lim collaborator has never been one to rest on his laurels, inviting fellow musicians along experimental paths that result in unconventional and genre-bending jazz compositions — brought up as a fan of R&B, the pianist's skills have transcended the worlds of jazz, soul and classical chamber, especially with his ambitious piece of work ELEVEN, which was debuted in 2015.

He's back this year with a brand new studio effort, Tales They Told Me, which has allowed Chok to write and record compositions that continue his expressive streak, infusing shades of blues, pop, and Brazilian music into the mix.

Recorded with his Organ Trio — rounded up by Andrew Lim (guitar) and Soh Wen Ming (drums) — the upcoming album promises a hefty amount of contemporary jazz brilliance. 

The album will be launched on July 28th at the Esplanade Recital Studio. Tickets available here.

Pre-orders for the album are now available through Chok Kerong's official website.

Here's a brief inside look into the recording process of Tales They Told Me:

Tales They Told Me's tracklisting:

  1. Tales They Told Me
  2. The March Bounce
  3. Vestiges
  4. Regression (Prelude)
  5. Regression
  6. A Sweeter Sound
  7. Diggin' on You 
  8. Famous A 


Sponsored By Bandwagon