Dawn and Storm: SNYO in Concert

Dawn and Storm: SNYO in Concert

18 July 2017
Add to calendar Get gig news & updates

Joshua Tan, guest conductor
Aoden Teo, cello

Tragic Overture, Op. 81

Cello Concerto No. 1 in C major, Hob. VIIb:1

Pastorale d’été

Francesca da Rimini, Op. 32

The SNYO presents a myriad of scenes and moods in this concert which opens with Brahms' stormy Tragic Overture, a symphonic essay on Romantic angst. Haydn's Cello Concerto No. 1, lost for two centuries and found again in 1961, forms the centrepiece with SNYO cellist Aoden Teo. Honegger's tranquil poem to a summer dawn offers a brief respite before the tragic tale and hellish tempests of Tchaikovsky's Francesca da Rimini bring the concert to a whirlwind close.