Debussy and Dvořák

Debussy and Dvořák

5 May 2017
Add to calendar Get gig news & updates

Lan Shui, conductor
Wang Jian, cello
Gulnara Mashurova, harp

Scottish March on a Popular Theme

Sacred and Profane Dances


Cello Concerto No. 1 in B minor, Op. 104

Cellist Wang Jian returns to perform with the SSO in Dvořák’s sublime masterpiece, Cello Concerto No. 1 in B minor, one of the most performed cello concertos in the world. Expect evocative soundscapes as Lan Shui conducts three works by French composer Claude Debussy, including Printemps and Sacred and Profane Dances.

"An impressive blend of charm, elegance and bravura" – The New York Times on Wang Jian

"The Singapore Symphony Orchestra applies itself with notable sensibility, energy and colouristic finesse to some core Debussy" – Gramophone

Pre-concert Talk: 6.30pm at library@esplanade