SSO Chamber Series: For the Emperor

SSO Chamber Series: For the Emperor

11 August 2017
Add to calendar Get gig news & updates

Musicians of the SSO

String Quartet No. 5 in F major, Op. 50, Hob.III:48 “Dream”
String Quartet No. 4 in B-flat major, Op. 76, Hob.III:78 “Sunrise”

String Quartet No. 21 in D Major, K. 575, Op. 18 No. 1 “Prussian”

Two nights of string quartets fit for a king, by Haydn and Mozart, pinnacles of the Neo-Classical era. The central hymn from Haydn’s Emperor Quartet was the national anthem of Austria for a time, while Mozart’s Prussian Quartets, written with the Prussian King’s interest in the cello in mind, were published two weeks after his premature death. “If Mozart had written nothing but his violin quartets and the Requiem, they alone would have been sufficient to make him immortal.” - HAYDN

Open Rehearsal: 12 Aug, 10am | For Friends of the SSO and ticketholders