*SCAPE Youth Music Awards 2021 nominees announced - cast your votes now

*SCAPE Youth Music Awards 2021 nominees announced - cast your votes now

Voting for this year's edition of the *SCAPE Youth Music Awards (YMA) is now open!

From now till 11:59 PM on 22 March, fans will be able to cast their votes for 80 nominated Singaporean artists across 16 award categories on yma.bandwagon.asia or via Twitter. This year, more than 2,200 nominations were submitted.

Scheduled to take place on 31 March, the award show — organised by *SCAPE and supported by Bandwagon — will celebrate the artistry and excellence of local youth musicians under the age of 35.  It will also recognise artists who remained resilient and continued making music amid the COVID-19 pandemic. 

The theme for *SCAPE Youth Music Awards 2021 will be "Check-in to the future of music", a reference to the safe check-ins that have become a part of Singaporeans' lives, as well as the future of music that the nominees represent. 


Unlike previous editions of the show, this year's will be a hybrid show that takes place both on-ground as well as virtually. It will also adopt a revamped genre-based voting format akin to that of international award shows to give artists more opportunities to be represented.  

“2020 was a challenging year for all of us, and especially so for the youth musicians in Singapore,” said Ms Ivy Lim, Executive Director of *SCAPE. “The fact that we are still able to enjoy new local music last year despite the pandemic and social distancing restrictions is a testament to the resilience, innovation, and excellence of our musicians. Against all odds, they have continued to pursue their passions and emerged stronger. This is what YMA 2021 aims to celebrate!”

Performers at this year's show include RRILEY, emo/math rock trio Forests, R&B singer KEYANA, and more.

The panel of judges will comprise Sai Akileshwar (Esplanade), Desiree Lai (Kiss92 FM, SPH Radio), Carl Cheng (Twitter), Colin Goh (Ocean Butterflies Music), Hyder Albar (Invasion), Erina Cook (Mediacorp Radio), George Leong, Ivan Ho (YouTube), Syaheed (SGMUSO), Ruby Tan (National Arts Council), Karen Gwee (NME Asia), Priya Dewan (Gig Life Pro), Andrew Zhan (UFM 100.3 FM, SPH Radio), Dean Chew (Darker Than Wax), and Nora Wong (Live Nation Entertainment).

Vote for your favourite artists and singles from now till 11:59 PM on 22 March here.

*SCAPE Youth Music Awards 2021 will be held between 7 PM and 9 PM on 31 March. Fans will be able to livestream the event via Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube. Stay tuned to yma.bandwagon.asia, *SCAPE Facebook, Instagram and Telegram for updates. 

Here is the full list of nominees for *SCAPE Youth Music Awards 2021 (in no order of merit):


Album of the Year

.gif - Hail Nothing

Shye - Days to Morning Glory

Annette Lee - Song for the Underdog

BRB. - relationship

MYRNE - Wandering


Artist of the Year (Electronic)


Jasmine Sokko





Single of the Year (Electronic)

Jasmine Sokko - 'Mess'

MYRNE - 'Splinter'

INCH ft. ShiGGa Shay - 'FLAGS'

Evanturetime, YAØ - 'Love Is'

MYRNE, Duumu -  'All for Nothing'

Artist of the Year (Indie/Alternative)





Charlie Lim


Single of the Year (Indie/Alternative)

M1LDL1FE - 'Can't Seem To Get Anything'

Subsonic Eye - 'Fruitcake'

Kitty Purrnaz - 'cry.'

Woes - 'Monkey Tennis'

Chloe Ho - 'Here's To Coming Out'

Artist of the Year (Non-English)

Yung Raja

Marcus Lee


Boon Hui Lu



Single of the Year (Non-English)

Gentle Bones, Tay Kewei - '你還不知道'

Fariz Jabba - 'Nak Tak Nak'

Jasmine Sokko - '女孩主義'

Goose 我鳥, OHMYMEITING - '行星戀'

Shelby Wang ft. Acid - '尋覓連接 (Lost & Found)'

Artist of the Year (Pop)

Nathan Hartono

Benjamin Kheng

Gentle Bones




Single of the Year (Pop)

Gentle Bones and Benjamin Kheng - 'Better With You'

Charlie Lim and Linying - 'Hummingbird'

KEYANA - 'Scorpio'

Tabitha Nauser - 'Vices'

Gentle Bones - 'dear me,'


Artist of the Year (Rap)

Yung Raja

Shigga Shay


Louie Indigo

Mediocre Haircut Crew


Single of the Year (Rap)

Yung Raja - 'The Dance Song'

Fariz Jabba, omarKenobi - 'Kalah'

Fariz Jabba - 'Nak Tak Nak'

BGourd - 'Fresh Air'

Louie Indigo - 'Scotty2hotty'

Artist of the Year (Rock)


Iman's League

Bad Dod


Pathetic Ordinary


Single of the Year (Rock)

Saints Amongst Sinners - 'Bitter Truths'

Bad Dod - 'Feel Nothing Yet'

Hauste - 'Nara'

MRTNS - 'Doves and Daisies'

The New Modern Lights - 'Bones'


Best New Artist





Jason Yu


Producer of the Year




Evan Chan

Hubert Ng 黃宇哲


People's Choice Awards (Based on the most number of votes across all categories)