Here are the winners of the 14th Freshmusic Awards – Shye, YELLOW's Hsuan Huang, Wanfang, and more

Here are the winners of the 14th Freshmusic Awards – Shye, YELLOW's Hsuan Huang, Wanfang, and more

The 14th Freshmusic Awards have crowned their winners!

Last 11 June via a virtual livestream, the awards show took place and honoured some of the best in indie and mainstream Chinese music. Organised by Singaporean music publication Freshmusic, the showcase saw acts like Wanfang, Shye, Shi Shi, YELLOW's Hsuan Huang, Olivia TsaoWeibird, Roya Katayama, and many more accept an array of accolades. 

Taiwanese singer Wanfang leads the list with three awards, winning all of her nominated categories which include Best Female Vocalist, Song Of The Year, and a spot on the Top 10 Albums Of The Year with her 30th-anniversary album, Dear All.


Singaporean indie act Shye also wowed the (virtual) crowd, winning Best New Artist and beating out acts like Jingfei Chen, rohan mills, BGourd, Yo Lee, and more. The judge's panel praised the young act on her debut album, Days to Morning Glory for its "stellar artistry and auditory aesthetics."

Hsuan Huang from the Taiwanese pop outfit YELLOW took home the title of Best Male Vocalist, making him the first band singer to win the category. 

Check out the full list of winners from the 14th Freshmusic Awards here.

Best New Artist: Shye - days to morning glory 

Best New Group/Band: ChuNoodle - Till ; N.Y.P.D. Nan Yang Pai Dui - N.Y.P.D. Best Group: The Fur. - Serene Reminder 

Best Band: 88 BALAZ - my heart is burning for your sexy butt!

The Great Leap Award: Olivia Tsao - Originally 

EP of the Year: Khuann Jit Tsa Am - Khuann Jit Tsa Am 

Best Male Vocalist: Hsuan Huang (YELLOW) - YELLOW FICTION

Best Female Vocalist: Wanfang - Dear All 

Album of the Year: Dear All - Wanfang

Song of the Year: “A Vacant Seat” - Wanfang 

The 10 Best Singles of 2020 
“Your Name Engraved Herein” - Crowd Lu 
“Hebei Moqilin” - Omnipotent Youth Society 
“Still Alive” - Salsa Chen 
“Drag Queen Solo Show” - Bobby Chen 
“Hysteria” - Hebe Tien 
“A Vacant Seat” - Wanfang 
“Bān-tshian Hue-luí Tsû-bió Pi-ai” - Collage 
“maava” - Sangpuy 
“A.K.A. Juan” - Tan Weiwei 
“Another You” - Misi Ke, Qing Feng Wu 

The 10 Best Albums of 2020 
Love, and Yet… - Panai
Where is SHI? - Shi Shi 
Dear All - Wanfang 
pulu’em - Sangpuy 
Drawing Dialogue - Misi Ke 
The Adventures of Pie Boy - The Spice Cabinet 
Time Will Tell - Hebe Tien 
ū lí ê kòo-sū - aoi
RYOTA - Ryota Katayama 
Sounds of My Life - Weibird