Sunset Rollercoaster, Shi Shi, Olivia Tsao, Khalil Fong, and more win big at the Golden Melody Awards 2021

Sunset Rollercoaster, Shi Shi, Olivia Tsao, Khalil Fong, and more win big at the Golden Melody Awards 2021

The winners of the Golden Melody Awards 2021 have been unveiled!

The annual awards ceremony was held on 21 August at the Taipei Music Center, with a total of 29 awards handed out to some of the biggest names in Mandopop. 

Some of the winners of this year's ceremony include singer Olivia Tsao, who walked away with Best Female Singer and Best Taiwanese Album for her release 自本, Hsu Fu Kai who won Best Male Singer, and Sunset Rollercoaster, who were awarded the title of Best Band. Singer-songwriter Shi Shi also won the award for Best Vocal Album Recording with Where is SHI?, while singer and producer Khalil Fong was awarded Best Producer for his track, 'Noodles'.

In the instrumental category, Filipino producer Derrick Sepnio went home with a total of three awards, making him one of the biggest winners of the night. Having produced numerous songs for artists such as Bibi Zhou, Jane Zhang, and ABAO, he has had a total of 23 nominations with 4 Golden Melody Awards under his belt prior to this year's ceremony.

Here are the winners at the Golden Melody Awards 2021:

Best Lyricist:  David Ke for 'Untold'

Best Arranger: Baby C for 'Flavor'

Best Indigenous Singer: Sangpuy for Pulu'em

Best Indigenous Album: Lady of the Ocean by Outlet Drift

Best New Artist: ?te for A Bedroom of One's Own

Best Male Singer (Taiwanese): Hsu Fu Kai for Ten 

Best Female Singer (Taiwanese): Olivia Tsao (曹雅雯) for 自本

Best Taiwanese Album: 自本 by Olivia Tsao 

Best Band: Sunset Rollercoaster for SOFT STORM

Best Vocal Group: The Wanted for Dear Adult

Best Album Design: Xiao Qing Yang for ZETA

Best Music Video: 'Home Cookin' directed by Cowper Wang  

Jury Award: Wan Fang for Dear All 

Best Hakka Singer: Wing Lo for When The Sun Rises

Best Hakka Album: Till by ChuNoodle  

Best Instrumental Album Recording: The Adventures of Pie Boy by The Spice Cabinet  

Best Instrumental Album Producer: hirsk for noista/gia 

Best Instrumental Album: The Adventures of Pie Boy by The Spice Cabinet

Best Vocal Album Recording: Where is SHI? by Shi Shi 

Best Instrumental Composer: Terry Hsieh and Derrick Sepnio for 'Bitter Sweet'

Best Composer: HUSH for '安和' by Tarcy Su

Special Contribution Award: Lo Ta You 

Best Song Producer: Khalil Fong for 'Noodles'

Best Album Producer: George Chen for Hebe Tien's album Time Will Tell

Song Of The Year: 'Your Name Engraved Herein' by Crowd Lu 

Best Male Singer (Mandarin): Soft Lipa for Home Cookin

Best Female Singer (Mandarin): Hebe Tien for Time Will Tell

Best Mandarin Album: Home Cookin by Soft Lipa  

Album Of The Year: Pulu'em by Sangpuy 




Bandwagon's Stories