ARASHI celebrate 21st anniversary with new album This is Arashi, livestream concert, and more

ARASHI celebrate 21st anniversary with new album This is Arashi, livestream concert, and more


ARASHI are celebrating their 21st anniversary with tons of new releases.

On Tuesday (11/03), the J-Pop supergroup of 'Turning Up' fame are celebrating their explosive 1999 debut with the release of their 17th studio album This is (This is ARASHI) and their virtual concert ARAFES 2020.

From their new album to ARAFES 2020, here’s everything you need to know about ARASHI’s 21st anniversary celebration:


The New ARASHI album: This is

This is (This is ARASHI) is packed with 11 tracks, including ‘Whenever You Call’, ‘Party Starters’, ‘IN THE SUMMER’, 'BRAVE', and more. 

The limited edition of This is 嵐 includes a second disc with five tracks from the ‘Reborn Series’ and ‘Turning Up (R3HAB Remix)’ and a DVD or Blu-ray of their music videos for the singles.

Check out 'Whenever You Call,' which was co-written and co-produced by Bruno Mars below.

Watch the 'Party Starters' music video below.

This is 嵐 Tracklist:

  1. 'Show Time'
  2. 'Turning Up'
  3. 'I Can't Wait for Christmas'
  4. 'Whenever You Call'
  5. 'いつか秒針のあう頃 (Itsuka Byōshin no Au Koro)'
  6. 'In the Summer'
  7. 'カイト (Kite)'
  8. 'Brave'
  9. 'Party Starters'
  10. 'Do You...?'
  11. 'The Music Never Ends'

They're taking ARAFES 2020 online

In place of their May 2020 arena concert, which was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, ARAFES 2020 (short for ARASHI Festival) will be streamed on Johnny’s net online tonight (11/03) at 7.30pm JST (6:30 p.m. SG/PH/MY or 5:30 p.m. TH/ID) from the Japan National Stadium in Shinjuku, Tokyo.

ARAFES 2020 was pre-recorded without an audience in the venue.

Fans who missed the show can watch the rebroadcast from 6 November to 8 November. Tickets are priced at JPY 5,800 (USD 55/ PHP 2,690/ SGD 75.50). Get them here.

The latest episode of their Netflix documentary, ARASHI's Diary - Voyage, also shows the planning process leading up to the ARAFES show.

This marks seven years since ARASHI's last ARAFES show in 2012.

'A.RA.SHI for dream ver. Special Movie' also drops today

ARASHI will also be dropping 'A.RA.SHI - for dream ver. Special Movie,' as part of the HELLO NEW DREAM PROJECT. The project teams up with 13 brands the Japanese boy group collaborated with throughout their journey. 

The special movie is a new arrangement of their debut song 'A · RA · SHI', produced by Kanno Yoko.