Taylor Swift releases "folklore’s sister record" evermore, featuring HAIM, The National, Bon Iver, 'willow' music video – watch

Taylor Swift releases "folklore’s sister record" evermore, featuring HAIM, The National, Bon Iver, 'willow' music video – watch

Taylor Swift is gifting us with a new album ahead of her 31st birthday this weekend.

The GRAMMY award-winning pop icon has unveiled her second quarantine album, evermore, which follows the July release of her critically acclaimed record folklore.

Like her previous offering, Swift's ninth studio album exudes with a heartwarming and vulnerable feel as she continues to go back to a more organic sound. It also features three tracks co-written by William Bowery.


"I wanted to surprise you with this the week of my 31st birthday," Swift writes in a statement. "You've all been so caring, supportive, and thoughtful on my birthdays and so this time I wanted to give you something!"

She adds, "I have no idea what will come next. I have no idea about a lot of things these days and so I've clung to the one thing that keeps me connected to you all. That thing always has and always will be music. And may it continue, evermore."

Alongside the album release, the 'cardigan' singer-songwriter dropped her self-directed visual for 'willow,' which stars Red tour backup dancer Taeok Lee.

UPDATE (12/17): Taylor Swift released the "Dancing Witch Version" of 'willow,' featuring 57 storyboard illustrations by Vincent Lucido from the official music video of the single.

"One of my favorite parts of directing music videos is the daydream/prep phase: writing up a treatment, a shot list, and working with an animator to storyboard it out ahead of time," Swift writes in a statement. "Thanks to illustrator Vincent Lucido, we can check off our shots as we go. A video showing the before and after of the willow video is out now."

Prior to 'willow,' Swift also directed and co-directed the videos for her singles 'Delicate' (vertical version), 'Me!,' 'You Need to Calm Down,' 'Lover,' 'The Man,' and 'Cardigan.'

Stream evermore below.

On Thursday night (12/10), the GRAMMY award-winning 'cardigan' singer-songwriter announced that she will be releasing "folklore's sister record," her ninth full-length album, evermore, on December 11 (Friday) at midnight ET (1 p.m. PHT/SGT). 

She is also scheduled to unveil her self-directed music video for 'willow,' the first single off the new record, alongside the album's release.

"I also know this holiday season will be a lonely one for most of us and if there are any of you out there who turn to music to cope with missing loved ones the way I do, this is for you," Swift writes in a tweet.

The upcoming record comes with 15 new tracks, including collaborations with HAIM, The National, and Bon Iver, and two bonus tracks. In a series of tweets, Swift credits Aaron Dessner, Jack Antonoff, William Bowery, and Justin Vernon as part of her latest project.

"I loved the escapism I found in these imaginary/not imaginary tales," she writes in a tweet about her second quarantine offering. "I loved the ways you welcomed the dreamscapes and tragedies and epic tales of love lost and found into your lives. So I just kept writing them."

Reese Lansangan, Coeli, Leanne and Naara, and more share their Taylor Swift Folkore moments

"To put it plainly, we just couldn’t stop writing songs. To try and put it more poetically, it feels like we were standing on the edge of the folklorian woods and had a choice: to turn and go back or to travel further into the forest of this music. We chose to wander deeper in," Swift adds.

evermore follows the release of folklore, which the 'Lover' singer-songwriter dropped in July this year.

Purchase evermore for digital download here.

evermore tracklist:

  1. 'willow'
  2. 'champagne problems'
  3. 'gold rush'
  4. ''tis the damn season'
  5. 'tolerate it'
  6. 'no body, no crime' (feat. HAIM)
  7. 'happiness'
  8. 'dorothea'
  9. 'coney island' (feat. The National)
  10. 'ivy'
  11. 'cowboy like me'
  12. 'long story short'
  13. 'marjorie'
  14. 'closure'
  15. 'evermore' (feat. Bon Iver)
  16. 'right where you left me'
  17. 'it's time to go'