Waa Wei, Abao, Wakin Chau, and more win at the 31st Golden Melody Awards

Waa Wei, Abao, Wakin Chau, and more win at the 31st Golden Melody Awards


Winners of the prestigious 31st Golden Melody Awards have been unveiled on Saturday (3/10) evening at the newly opened Taipei Music Center. 

Hosted by singer Waa Wei, awarding artists from 27 categories, the Taiwanese singer-songwriter also brought home a win for Best Female Vocalist.

With an extensive list of nominees including the likes of Namewee, G.E.M., 9m88, and more, the event also saw performances by various artists like Fish Leong and JJ Lin, which were broadcasted live along with its ceremony on YouTube. 


This year sees Abao lead with three awards, including Best Indigenous Language Album, Song of the Year and Album of the Year. She was nominated in eight categories. 

Meanwhile, Wakin Chau, Chick en Chicks, Joanna Wang, and others each picked up a win for Best Vocal Recording Album, Best Vocal Group, Best Mandarin Album, and more. 

See the full list of winners below:

Best Vocal Group: Chick en Chicks, Beat Maker

Best Musical Group: Fire EX., Stand Up Like A Taiwanese

Best Vocalist (Indigenous): CEKO, CEKO TRIBUTE TO FALANGAW

Best Indigenous Language Album: Mother Tongue (Kinakaian), Abao 

Best Vocalist (Hakka): Misa, THE SHIP OF FOOLS

Best Hakka Album: THE SHIP OF FOOLS, Misa

Best New Vocal: ChihSiou, The Elephant in The Room

Best Music Video: ‘LOVE’, directed by Yin Chen-hao

Best Album Design: Awakening, Timonium Lake

Best Vocal Recording Album: The Younger Me, Wakin Chau

Best Instrumental Recording Album: Baby-C Portfolio Initial Value,  Goahead Music Co. Ltd.

Best Male Vocalist (Taiwanese): Justin Su, We all have good nature

Best Female Vocalist (Taiwanese): Zhu Haijun, Blooming

Best Taiwanese Album: Makeover, Loh Tsui Kweh Commune

Best Lyricist: Hsieh Ming-Yo, ‘Road’

Best Composer: Jen Jen, ‘The Wedding’ ft. Luantan Ascent

Song of the Year: ‘Thank You’, Abao

Special Award by the Jury: G.E.M., City Zoo

Best Instrumental Composer: Ken Ohtake, ‘Okinawa’ 

Best Album Producer (Instrumental): Non-Confined Space, Flow, Gesture, and Spaces

Best Arrangement: KOBUDO, Peggy Hsu - ‘Ikusa’

Best Album (Instrumental): Ciao Bella, Feeling Good Music Co. Ltd.

Best Single Producer: Hsieh Ming-Yo, ‘Road’

Best Album Producer: Sandee Chan, Juvenile A

Best Male Vocalist (Mandarin): Wu Qing-feng, Spaceman

Best Female Vocalist (Mandarin): Waa Wei, Hidden, Not Forgotten

Best Mandarin Album: Love is Calling Me, by Joanna Wang

Album of the Year: Mother Tongue (Kinakaian), Abao