Here are the winners of the 2021 MTV VMAs – BTS, Olivia Rodrigo, Lil Nas X, Silk Sonic, and more

Here are the winners of the 2021 MTV VMAs – BTS, Olivia Rodrigo, Lil Nas X, Silk Sonic, and more

And that's a wrap for the 2021 MTV Video Music Awards (VMAs)!

Held at the Barclays Center on 12 September, 8 PM EST (13 September, 8 AM PHT/SGT), the awards show saw a live ceremony and stunning stages performances, as well as an online livestream. The night saw stunning performances from the likes of Doja Cat – who also hosted the show, Justin Bieber, Lil Nas X, Kim Petras – who made history as the first transgender woman to perform at the VMAs, Olivia Rodrigo, Machine Gun Kelly, and more. 

In a night of glitz, glam and good music, the 2021 VMAs also honoured and celebrated a variety of talented acts, from K-pop stars to pop icons.

Leading the pack is Olivia Rodrigo who took home three awards.  Her viral hit 'drivers licenseearned her this year's the Song Of The Year and Push Performance Of The Year awards. The breakout star also won Best New Artist beating the likes of Polo G, The Kid LAROI, and Giveon

Also taking home three awards is Lil Nas X, bagging the Video Of The Year award, Best Direction, and Best Visual Effects for 'Montero (Call Me By Your Name)'. 

Global icons BTS also accepted an array of accolades including Best Group beating the likes of BLACKPINK, Foo Fighters, Jonas Brothers, Silk Sonic, and more. The group also won Best K-pop and Song Of The Summer for their dance-pop anthem 'Butter'.

Justin Bieber, who was up for six awards, walked away with Artist Of The Year, Best Pop for 'Peaches' which featured Daniel Caesar and Giveon. 

Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak's duo Silk Sonic also won at the year's ceremony with their 'Leave The Door Open', which earned the pair Best R&B and Best Editing. 

The Foo Fighters also made history at this year's VMAs, being honoured with the first-ever Global Icon Award

Also joining the winners' list are Machine Gun Kelly, Billie Eilish, Travis ScottDoja Cat, and more. Check out the full winners' list below. 

Global Icon Award: Foo Fighters

Video Of The Year: Lil Nas X - 'Montero (Call Me By Your Name)'

Artist Of The Year: Justin Bieber

Group Of The Year: BTS

Song Of The Year: Olivia Rodrigo - 'drivers license'

Best New Artist: Olivia Rodrigo 

Push Performance Of The Year: Olivia Rodrigo - 'drivers license'

Best Collaboration: Doja Cat ft. SZA - 'Kiss Me More'

Best Pop: Justin Bieber ft. Daniel Caesar, Giveon - 'Peaches'

Best Hip-Hop: Travis Scott ft Young Thug, M.I.A. - 'Franchise'

Best Rock: John Mayer - 'Last Train Home'

Best Alternative: Machine Gun Kelly ft. blackbear - 'my ex's best friend'

Best Latin: Billie Eilish and Rosalía - 'Lo Vas A Olvidar'

Best R&B: Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak) - 'Leave The Door Open'

Best K-pop: BTS - 'Butter'

Video For Good: Billie Eilish - 'Your Power'

Song Of The Summer: BTS - 'Butter'

Best Direction: Lil Nas X - 'Montero (Call Me By Your Name)'

Best Cinematography: Beyoncé, Blue Ivy, SAINtJHN, WizKid - 'Brown Skin Girl'

Best Art Direction: Saweetie ft. Doja Cat - 'Best Friend'; Alec Contestabile

Best Visual Effects: Lil Nas X - 'Montero (Call Me By Your Name)'; Mathematic

Best Choreography: Harry Styles - 'Treat People With Kindness'

Best Editing: Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars and Anderson .Paak) - 'Leave The Door Open'

Bandwagon's Stories