BTS, SEVENTEEN, Apink, BLACKPINK, and more nominated for Melon Music Awards 2020, BTS to perform

BTS, SEVENTEEN, Apink, BLACKPINK, and more nominated for Melon Music Awards 2020, BTS to perform

The awards season has been joined by one of the most anticipated events in K-pop, the Melon Music Awards


On 11 November, the major awards show organised by Kakao M lifted the veil on the 40 nominees in the list for this year’s Top 10. The Top 10 Artists Award is one of the highlights among many other categories, such as Song of the Year, Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, and other genre, popularity, and special prizes. 

Running for the Top 10 are Apink, EXO’s Baekhyun, Baek Ji Young, Baek Yerin, BLACKPINK, BOL4, BTS, Crush, Davichi, Deepflow, Gaho, (G)I-DLE, MAMAMOO’s Hwasa, ITZY, IU, IZ*ONE, Jeon Mi Do, Jessi, Jo Jung Suk, Red Velvet’s Joy, Kim Ho Joong, Lee Hi, Lim Young Woong, M.C the MAX, NCT 127, Oh My Girl, OVAN, Paloalto, Red Velvet, B1A4’s Sandeul, SEVENTEEN, Simon Dominic, SSAK3, EXO’s Suho, Girls’ Generation’s Taeyeon, The Quiett, TWICE, Young Tak, YUMDDA, and Block B’s Zico


According to Soompi, the winners of the Top 10 will be streamlined via Melon downloads, streaming counts, and user votes. The timeframe for music released has to be between 30 November, 2019 and 10 November, 2020.

Voting for Melon users has commenced today (11/11) and will end on 20 November. Verified accounts can vote up to thrice a day, while unverified accounts are allowed to vote once a day. 

Fans can vote for their favourite artists here, or download the Melon app and click on ‘MMA’ to be directed to the voting page.

Due to the coronavirus, MMA 2020 will be taking place online this year, starting 2 December, 5PM (TH/ID Standard Time) or 6PM (PH/SG/MY Standard Time), to 5 December. It will be the first time the awards show is holding an online music festival week, and promises to create a new “performance culture”. 

BTS are the first performers to be announced for this year's awards ceremony. Lim Young Woong and Young Tak are also confirmed to attend, in addition to DAY6 sub-unit Even of Day and Jang Beom June, Park Moon Chi, LEENALCHI, Jae-Jae, and Gaho.

UPDATE (25/11): MONSTA X, Oh My Girl, and TOMORROW X TOGETHER (TXT) are confirmed to join the Melon Music Awards lineup.

UPDATE (26/11): IZ*ONE and The Boyz will be attending the main ceremony, and Jannabi’s Choi Jung Hoon, Simon Dominic, and CODE KUNST, who came together for single album RECONNECT recently, are also slated to perform. 

Watch this space for updates.